ROOM OF FEAR

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “1984.”


You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.


I walk into the room of fears on days i think i am ready to face it. Today is yet another day.

The room is represents me and locked inside are all my fears.

The room is filled with familiar things. Cause when is a fear unfamiliar? When is it unknown? Fear is being mildly aware of the outcome of a situation which would put one is trouble.

I see the a snake slithering from right across the room towards me. Its dirt brown in color, the same one i saw in the backyard. with my dad trying to help me plant my first sapling, It was the last time i saw my dad alive. Ophidiophobia

I hear a buzz. I look around to find its source. A honeycomb hangs from the ceiling, with bees in it. I loved the sweet taste of honey (like pooh). Until the day i climbed up a tree to juice out the honey comb for honey. Apiphobia

I see a thing object leaning to the wall on my right. I recollect nothing..

I see the reception of a hospital. Mom told me hospital is a place where loved ones are born. But thats also a place where the loved ones die.. Nosocomephobia

My gaze fall on the object again. Maybe its the drawing canvas.. Was it here the last time i came in?

I see a mike and two huge boomboxes. Loud noises.. they accelerate my heartbeat to the level that i can feel the heart pounding in my ears. Ligyrophobia

Object again.. this time it shines.. it emits a metallic light.. I recollect nothing..

I see the night i lost my freedom. Cause my freedom of expression was  curbed by a group of extremists. Eleutherophobia

Until now i could identify and tickoff all of my fears.

The object.. What is it? Why is it here? Is it a mirror?

I walk towards the it anxious about the new occupant of the room of fear.

I slowly make my way to the unexpected object in the room. I stand before it.. and i see me.

Its a mirror!

I stand still.. trying hard to recall what in my life brought it here.. in the room of fear.

Is it the mirror of Erised from that Harry Potter book? No.. I wouldn’t be seeing just me if it was it.

Me.. Mirror.. Me? Mirror?   ME!!

I fear me!

I fear the outcomes of my actions.. I FEAR ME!

Happy belated Halloween !!

2 thoughts on “ROOM OF FEAR

  1. I don’t know this post was a conscious choice or not, dear Varsh. Maybe you felt before;) , but it full fit. That day november 1, there was an election in here. And after its result it was stepped to new world like in 1984:)

Leave a Reply

