PLUVIOPHILE – MONSOON

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Turn, Turn, Turn.”


Seasons change so quickly! Which one do you most look forward to? Which is your least favorite?


I don’t find mentions of my favorite season in the responses to today’s prompt. 😦

There are mentions about autumn, summer and spring. Autumn cause we are not yet in the freezing zone, its just the right amount of chill to chill. Summer cause its warm, a trip to the beach would be fun, a little bit of tan would do no harm. Spring cause life springs back into the dull nature.. and the world looks just more colorful.

Where is the monsoon? The cycle can’t be complete without monsoon. I don’t have anything against the other seasons but my favorite season is monsoon!

As mentioned in my blog before my name varsh-a in my mother tongue means rain πŸ™‚ So there is no way i can’t love it.

From the cool breeze before the rain to the festoon of water droplets on the branches and leaves of the trees, I love everything about it. Its power to rejuvenate the dull, thirsty earth into a throbbing mass of life is wonderful.

I absolutely enjoy getting drenched in rain. Not the type of person who will carry an umbrella fearing the clouds to pour. I don’t give a damn about the dress, my belongings, not even my phone! Cause of this drenching love for rain i have damaged a plenty of watches of mine. Right now i don’t posses one and i have no intention of buying one cause its almost monsoon here. πŸ˜› Oh and the taste of pakodas, jalebis and ice cream adds a lot of fun to it.

I have done almost all crazy things anyone can imagine doing in rain like.. jumping on muddy puddles barefoot, walking around barefoot on roads, – i don’t know how to explain this but you know rain gets collected along the side ends of the road and vehicles just zoom past you on the road and there is this sheet splash of water (almost like a mini wave) falling over you and you go like “What the hell?!” —- Psst readers.. Is there a word to explain this phenomena? πŸ˜›

The only thing i haven’t tried is playing football in grounds. Its like a thing on my bucket list. Why haven’t i done that yet.. well cause i don’t find people who fancy playing football in vision blurring rain. Plus grounds are not easy to find in my uber metro city. 😦

The only thing that puts me off during monsoon is the stench due to horrible conditions of drainage system. The open garbage dump areas, semi closed manholes, holes meaninglessly dug on roads and footpaths.

Any pluviophiles out there? πŸ˜‰

Anyone having done even crazier stuff? πŸ˜›

Pluviophile - lover of rain

Feel the rain on your skin, no one else can feel it for you, only you can let it in

– Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield

7 thoughts on “PLUVIOPHILE – MONSOON

  1. I like your name means, dear Varsh:) And I like also rain but the most I like the snow and winter. Maybe you would take quotes in here from Game of Thrones “winter is coming” πŸ™‚

    • It doesn’t snow here. A lot of bloggers here in WordPress love it. But I am yet to experience it. (Let me add that to my bucket list) πŸ˜›

      • I hope you will experience soon dear Varsh.:) And one advise for you, if you experience it at the place where is away from an industrialized region, and is a natural clean area, you can eat:) So many people especially in summer, collect the snows at the mountains and pour over jam or syrup. Its taste is wonderful; maybe you will never want to eat the ice cream, when you taste it;)

Leave a Reply

