RAIN THAT REFLECTS ME

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Free Association.”


Today’s Prompt:

Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

Use those words in the title of your post.


Love = Home

Mud  = Soil

Me = Rain


I need not explain any of these.. All speak for themselves.

I am going to elaborate just a bit. All these words put together today remind me of my motherland.. India..  Home.. Soil.. Rain.. Today we celebrate our 66th Republic Day. As a fellow blogger posted on her blog NAMASTE . On this occassion there is a parade organised at Rajghat to potray the diversity in which India survives and believes. There happened to be a slight drizzle this morning just as the program began. But the event went on as organised and there was not as much a frown on the crowd gathered there.. sure umbrellas and raincoats made their appearences but the overall spirit remained cheerful.

Rain and delight.. Hmm.. A lot of people love rains.. but my association with it runs a bit stronger.. My name.. Varsh-a means rain in hindi.. So rain and myself are inseparable. 🙂 And the smell of wet mud.. everytime it rains in my view cannot be replaced by the fragnance of the most expensive perfumes ! Some people think its crazy.. But i love it ! Everytime it rains it makes me want to run out of the closed enclosures into the open and dance in the rain. And i personally think there is a lot to learn from rain..

Here are a few snapshots from the republic day parade today.

.Prime Minister Narendra Modi, President Barak Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama

The make in India tableau.

The state tableau of Rajasthan

                      The state tableau from West Bengal.

   The state tableau of Karnataka.

How come i am back so soon?.. I found the prompt small and easy.. and was also in a spirited mood.. so posted today.. Happy republic day !

9 thoughts on “RAIN THAT REFLECTS ME

  1. Haippi ganaatantra divasa! I hope I didn’t make a mistake with saying Happy Republic day. I have written google and it translated like this:) Anyway:) Happy republic day, Varsh!

    • I was surprised to see your comment. I myself didn’t use the Hindi version.. How navie of me… Thank you for reminding me of my roots. 🙂 just a small correction.. Its “ganatantra divas ki Hardic shubkamnaye”
      • Next time I will be say correctly. I am starting to work on it right now. There is 365 days for this:) And I am full of surprises extra-terrestrial as much as the mankind;)

  2. Im so jealous I feel like I missed a great parade and you have great pictures. I don’t have the connection with the rain that you have, but believe me life lives in every drop and I only hope to feel embrace and dance in the rain as well.

Leave a Reply

