ART OF WAKING PEOPLE UP

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Two Right Feet.”


Today’s Prompt: What are the things you need to do within 30 minutes of waking up to ensure your day gets off on the right foot? What happened the last time you didn’t do one of these things?


I dont believe in doing something in a specific manner to ensure my day goes well. But these are the things i need to do to start a day.

The first thing i need is to make sure i am wide awake. Awake enough to see objects in front of me clearly and gather all the still sleepy sense organs to start functioning in a coordinated manner. To most of you it comes naturally.. but the realization of being awake dawns onto my sensory nerves a bit late. I have to kind of spend time sitting or laying in the bed until i am sure i can stand on my feet without falling.

You: “Hmmm.. Not interesting. This is what we do almost EVERYDAY! Whats different?”

To you it seems ordinary. But trust me i have made quite a many falls from my bed and ended up in hospital with stiches. Sometimes i just take a few steps and then suddenly that sleepy feeling is all over me and i just lay down on the floor. Then my family comes running and shake me up (They think i have fainted or something). I guess the incomplete sleep finds its way even when i am awake.

The other thing i do is wake my brothers up! They just wont getup before i do! Everyday its the same story. I will be screaming or sometimes pour glasses of water to wake them up and they dreamy eyed always constant reply “Yeah.. two more minutes.” Two more minutes are extended to half an hour delays. Me and my bros went to school and college together.. so these two minutes have caused me dreadful delays!! And i dont even get to blame them. If i do.. They retort back.. “You dont know how to wake people up!” According to them waking someone up is a art!! And i am still at the ground level.

I wonder what level is the alarm clock.. it sure does wake up a lot of people on time.

2 thoughts on “ART OF WAKING PEOPLE UP

Leave a Reply

