UNOFFICIAL REASON

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Final Trio.”


This is my first attempt at a trio through the daily post. And i know i am a bit late on it.

Todays prompt: For our final trio prompt of the year, write about any topic you wish, but make sure your post features a bookcase, something cracked, and a song you love.

The lines that ran down the shelves on the fourth alley on the right of the library always intrigued me. Its antique presence seemed out of place in the otherwise flawless modern library. As i stood there looking for a decent book to spend my time with on a lonely saturday night, the librarian walked past me with a trolly full of books. Her mysterious mannerisms always amused me. I wanted to grab a book and run away. I heard a group of students chattering along the far corner. One of their phone buzzed out loud with the game of throne theme song. The librarian seemed annoyed. The student hurriedly rejected it and fumbled with the phone to active the silent mode.The librarian tried hard to mask the daunted look on her pale face. Just then the phone rang again. The librarian dashed towards the group. I turned around to watch the drama unfold.

She returned to stack the books back on the shelf. Oblivious to the fact that i now knew her secret. Cause as she darted to the owner of the phone i heard a distinct crack behind me. I turned around to only be dazed by the stream of red light that flooded out of the narrow cracks in the shelves. The shelfed door went ajar. But before i made a move it closed with the same sound with which it opened.

I walked out. I knew i would no longer spend my saturday night alone reading a book in my room. I now know the unofficial reason behind the silence that a library holds.

Leave a Reply

